Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

it is understood that eradication of wilderness, for example: deforestation or

hunting of animals can sometimes be the inevitable by product of the development of

a nation. However, given the recent situation of the climate, and nature in general,

I agree with the statement nations should pass laws in order to preserve any remaining

wilderness in their natural state.

A reader may ask, Why? there are several answers. First and foremost, the

existence of rare and nearly extinct species. Whenever trees are cut down in

order to provide lumber or fuel, or when people hunt too much for food or sport

countless animal and mammal species can be killed or driven away. Because there

is no ecosystem to derive its food from, or there are no living spaces for such

species. there have been several instances where man-made factors have led to

extensive outward migration or extinction of species. For example, when Poachers

well allowed to hunt freely in the savannah which led to the severe depletion of

tiger population in Africa.

The second reason is that by not protecting wilderness, companies and other similar

entities may be tempted clear out an entire forest. now, people may argue that

the space is needed to build industries and homes for expanding the population. The

Rebuttal to this argument is that The disadvantages far outweigh the advantages

in this case. If trees were cleared out, the roots of the trees which are left over

would no longer hold the soil together. Near riverlands, the soil may be washed away

by the river and be contaminated, or the deposition of soil at the riverbanks

may cause floods, as is the case in India. On hillsides and mountains, the

lack of trees may cause landslides and avalanches. On the other hand,

building infrastructure upon cleared out lands may lead to more man made

pollution. which would not only harm wildlife but also us humans as well.

And my third point is: wilderness areas can provide a huge source of tourism revenue.

Certain countries, especially countries in asia, rely on the revenue generated

by wildlife tourism to run economies. now, clearing out such area could possibly

reduce such revenue on a considerable scale. now, it can be argued that the

development that follows may cover and exceed tourism revenues. The answer to this is,

there is no guarantee that the development would guarantee the cover-up of such

lossess, and thus there would be no such problems. The ability of the development

may be affected by various factors.

Therefore, and considering both sides of the arguement, I believe that state laws

should enact laws that protect the wilderness. As I have shown with the aforementioned

arguements, nations would, quite certainly, benefit from the protection of the

wilderness.