In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.

In this argument, the author recommends that recent decline of their profit can be halt by reducing the operating costs. To support his view, the author cites following facts about their video rental shop: (1) they will not increase the rental rate because it will hinder their reputation (2) total time of business should be reduced (3) movies that are older then five years will be removed. However, close scrutiny of each of those facts reveals that none of them lend sound support to his recommendation.

Firstly, the author is sure about the cause of profit decline and it is the operating cost that should be lessen but how one can be so sure about his profit declination. A profit of a company depends upon many things like customers choice, environments of the shop, terms and condition and facilities given by the shop. Without considering any of the other possibilities one can not so easily conclude that operating cost is responsible for this declination. So, authors assumption are kind of baseless and output of a shallow thinking.

Secondly, considering their reputation he will not increase the prize but it can be the reason of profit declination because the purchase cost of videos may have risen over the period of time and it is high time to increase the cost. His stolid and stern decision about the prize reduction is baseless and illogical considering other carcumstances.

Thirdly, his plan about operating cost reduction is also kind of an assumption. He refers about another shop of their own which did cut its cost by lessening total business hours. It can be the case that that area is kind of countryside and people do not hang around at nights. So, he can not compare two different locations considering the same measurements. it can be or may be the case that most people who rent videos mostly come at night time, so this kind of tactless decision may cause him further reduction of profit.Finally, many people have many choices, so by eliminationg the old movies can cause further destruction of profit because at any time any people can crave for any movies so without considering the customers demand such elimination is almost tends to self destruction.

In sum, the author fails to justify his/her recommendation that operating cost is responsible for profit loss. To be more convincing, the author should provide more information perhaps by way of local survey - to justify his/her assumption. Thinking deep about the author's claim, it comes up that those are valueless and a mere assumption without any strong ground.