Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

learning is a process of acquiring knowledge from different sources and materials, while everybody's learning process is completely different and a bit of complex issue to describe properly. As human brains are very complex and interesting enough to keep the learning process still a kind of secret. From my perspective learning is the subject of personal discipline rather than school, college, mentor's motivation. However, one might find oneself comfortable when supervised by schools or colleges in case of learning. Most of the cases a true learner will definitely acquire knowledge, a good mentor or guidance from schools will not hinder him.

Students, those have potential and a thirst for learning, lack of proper guidance may make their path rude but not make impossible. Moreover, genuine talent or enthusiasm can only be developed by oneself through searching and learning from everywhere. In the modern era of technology internet and smart devices are pervasive, oneself just need a little push to know the things that are ruminating in their head. If learners are still lassitude to know after having all those devices and Google, his interest in learning may be questioned. In sum, looking back in past clears the fact that those who were extraordinary in some fields have a strong desire for discovering the unknown.

For example, everyone should have heard the name of Rabindra Nath Tagore, who did not attend school due to lack of interest but acquire a vast knowledge of Bengali and English literature by self-studying. He was also awarded Nobel prize mostly for 'Gitanjali' a collection of poems. History always shows us that, absolute interest in learning can never be stopped due to lack of supervising. In the case of, Sir Issac Newton, who first invented gravity, was actually a free thinker or self-learner, who questioned a very conventional reality, why the apple fall downward instead of upward?

and this question leads him to discover the universal truth 'The Gravity'.

However, some students find it really difficult to learn by himself/herself, necessarily mean that he/she is blockheaded. Sometimes, students need just a little push or showing them the way of learning, like showing the first couple of steps in the ocean of knowledge.

In a nutshell, schools and colleges are really helpful in terms of motivation, direction, guidelines but oneself needs to learn on his own. So, I agree with the issue that 'Learning is a matter of personal discipline'.