Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

Art sector and military sector both of them are important for a country. If we investigate among the countries the truth can be seen. Military is important to save and protect the country from invaders and art is essential part for the people to remind them who they actually are. Though in the passage author did give his opinion that government should invest equal amount in arts and military, i can not agree with him completely. Suppose, a country is at war and people are enduring endless oppression and suffering from invaders then what will that country do? invest in arts rather then military will be a tragic option to chose.

First of all, a country with lots of arts and cultures but have no or little military support is in dangerous situation. If we look back in history a lots of evidence of extinction of many nation with lots of arts but no military power. Many nomadic or semi nomadic people who lives simple and happy life with their culture were completely eradicated by other strong nations. So, though culture is important but establishing a powerful military is more important to save the nation and save the culture.

Secondly, a clever look at our current nations is a day light prove of the fact. Every nation filled with cultures,arts and traditional activities nowadays have a strong military. Suppose, a country is indirectly ruled by other countries then the cultures of the invaders will intrude in to the affected country.

In sum, a country should invest equal amount for both culture and military if only it has established military force. When a country reaches at a level in defense from where is hard for other countries to invade her, only then that can ornate their arts and invest more and more to save them from extinction.