During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many on-the-job accidents is fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.

According to the memo, the vice president claims that Alta manufacturing has a higher rate of accidents because of sleep deprivation among the workers. To build a strong ground in his opinion the president cites some evidence such as (1)Panoply Industries has a lower rate of accidents because they have shorter working hours (2)according to some experts sleep deprivation and fatigue is a reason. As the memo's decision is baseless and without any proper survey results it fails to convince me.

There may be lots of reasons for accidents in factories like -- using arcane methods which have higher risks, lacking safety-related tools, proper training etc. but without concerning any of these factors memo directly concludes that accidents are likely to occur because of sleep deprivation.

Moreover, the memo supports his claim based on only one company named

'Panoply Industries', where there can be other industries those have higher working hours but lower accidents rate. The vice president's hypothesis cannot be assumed true based on a single example. He should have surveyed at least 30 to 40 industries before announcing such guileful statements.

Thirdly, no interview was taken from the works, while they are the ones who could clearly identify their problems and what actually needed to lessen the accidental rate. Workers may be facing serious lacking of safety kits or proper training and working an extra hour might not be the cause.

To put in a nutshell, vice president failed to convince me with statements full of assumptions, own hypothesis, based on refutable surveys. Most importantly he did not consider any of his workers claims about the frequent accidents.