A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The region of 'Himalayan mountain' has one of the best environment in the world to maintain a healthy life. People of that region live a very different lifestyle and all those ups and downs of hills and the natural pureness make their body fit and strengthen their immune system. On the other hand 'United States' is one of the busiest and developed place in the world, People are busy with none physical works all day and most of the children prefer playing in computers rather then field. Those children's food habit is also different from the hilly regions of Himalayan. Without considering any of the facts, the author of the argument concludes that children in US have higher tooth decay rate because of 'regular dental care'.

Firstly, The author did not investigate other reasons like food habit, genetics, environment, etc and directly inculpate the dental care. Other then, tooth decay the 'Himalayan' region children may have fewer disease then US children but author did not find it necessary to investigate and give a authentic report of disease affected by 'Himalayan' children and 'United States' children.

Moreover, author did not mentioned the name of the source from where he get the data. From the author perspective, as the 'Himalayan' region have little dental care they should suffer more dental problem but does this thinking hold a strong ground? If we look through all the data and authentic charts we will find that people those like in hill tracts and naturally safe and pure area have fewer disease rate.

In a nutshell, author's whole idea of why United States children is having high 'tooth decay' rate does not make any sense. From his thought, Having a little number of heath care means larger amount of disease in that area where there are other factors such as environment, food habit, physical work are not important factor.