The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

A parent from a private school states that recent management handover to a private vendor named 'Swift Nutrition' is causing a great havoc among the students. To support his/her claim he cites some surveys (1)low-fat and low-caloric foods are not enjoyable as his son and the son's friend find it difficult to eat them (2) Those who do not eat cafeteria food, will bring less healthy foods. The letter is full of baseless assumption and partial attitudes, so i don't agree with it.

In the first place, the parent is biased on his son and son's friends, there may be other possibility that most of the student like low-fat and low-calorie food. If we look close scrutiny among the school going students one thing crossed in the minds that most of them are excessively fat, may be for that reasons most of parents like their children to have low-fat foods. Without interviewing other students the parent can not conclude that 'there will be serious health consequences' for 'Swift Nutrition'.

Secondly, from the letter, if any student don't like cafeteria food will bring unhealthy food by themselves, but the parent was not concerned about the health issues earlier. In the beginning he was concerned that his son is not enjoying the low-fat healthy meals but how can he changes his tone in the later part and cares about health issues. Again, how he is so sure that the students will bring unhealthy foods from home.

To put in a nutshell, most of the author's statements are partisan, where he wants to replace 'Swift Nutrition' thinking about only his son and son's friends. Without proving stable survey from all of the students his recommendations failed to convince me.