As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The progress of technology leads people to depend more on technology to solve problems that they met in education, work and ordinary life. And it also sparks controversy over the deteriorating of people’s ability to think for themselves. In my opinion, technology progress can really bring convenience and welfare to people’s life, their abilities to think for themselves in some fields are disturbed, but their abilities to think for themselves to solve more complicated poblems are totally enhanced.

Firstly, technology progress makes people apply various tools to solve problems instead of their own thinking. Many apps in mobile phone can help people manage tasks in many fields. For example, the calendar app can help people arrange their everyday to-do-list and remind them important things in special time. And people don’t need to write everything they should do in notebooks since the apps on mobile phones can remind them automatically. And the translating app can help those non-native language learners master new words or sentences they met in newspapers or websites in several seconds and it’s very convenient to get rid of taking a heavy dictionary with them or looking through these new words and sentences in dictionary . So these apps can really decline their own abilities to think for themselves in many occasions since apps can help them reduce their time and energy.

However, in most occasions, the progress of technology enhances people’s abilities to think for themselves. those app developers also need to elevate their thinking abilities since they should demonstrate strong abilities to be competent of research work. The upgrading of app needs developer to improve app’s functions and new app birth need stronger thinking abilities to challenge those prevalent apps. So technology development makes people face more challenge to their profound thinking abilities.

And technology can really bring people other derivative dilemma at the same time . These trouble themselves can enable people to make full use of their own thinking to analyse these problems and find solutions to them. People need to accumulate stronger abilities to face and solve more complicated problem they face while enjoying the convenience of technology progress. Similarly take the app for example. For instance , In app fields the competition of various apps with different functions enable people more rational to analyse their own desire and economic situations. They will notice some functions of apps are what they don’t need and they won’t pay extra price for those functions. Except for desires and price factors, consumers also consider the learning cost of app since some apps are designed for professional people and even those professionals need time to master these apps. The process of choosing app and learning to master app can toughen consumers' thinking abilities and force them to think some complicated problems such as improving their knowledge system and adjusting their life focus. On the other hand, For example, prevalent apps make people focus on screens with less eye movement and walk and people will use social app to substitute face-to-face communication more and more. And those habits shaped by app products may be harmful for their eyesight and fitness and their relationships. So people need more profound thinking to solve those derivative problems in the development of technology progress.

In sum, technology progress liberates people from much superficial and tedious brain work, and it also brings more pressure and impetus to people to enhance their profound and powerful thinking abilities to analyse and solve those complicated problem s in technology progress. So the ability of humans to think for themselves will to a largely extant be enhanced in the process of solving problems.