People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The sequence of work to be followed in the construction of a building is the at most important procedures of construction. The major sequences of construction are marking, excavation, concreting, brick masonry, roof laying, flooring and finishing.

In this article we study the sequences of building construction in detail.

Sequences of Work in Building Construction

1. Paper Work

Construction of residential building required paper work before the start of actual construction. The paper works are preparation of drawings, estimation of material cost, labor cost & contingencies, approval of drawings from City Development Authority.

Fig 1: Making of drawings.

2. Marking of Layout

The approved plan boundaries are marked in the ground first and the ground inside and outside the layout is cleaned. Later the complete layout is marked on the ground with accurate dimension and orientation.

Fig 2: Marking of Layout

3. Excavation

Generally excavation is carried out for the construction of wall foundations. Excavation should be carried out as per the drawings defined lengths & widths. Suitable machines are used to excavate the the earth for the making of foundation.

Fig 3: Excavation

4. Foundation Work

Foundation work consists of many sub works which are as follows,

1. Compacting the ground

The excavation pits are trimmed and dressed as per the requirement and the bottom is compacted using hand compactors.

2. PCC

To form a solid bases on which the reinforcement can be tied and footing can be placed. Plain cement concrete of the mix 1:4:8 or 1:3:6 is laid on the compacted soil in varying depth as required.

3. Footing Reinforcement

Reinforcement steel bars are tied together and placed on the PCC to form a skeleton in which the concrete is poured and the column rods are taken from them.

4. Shuttering

To achieve proper shaped concrete, shuttering is done as per the dimensions mentioned in the drawing. It is also done so that the concrete doesn’t come in contact with the soil .

5. Footing Concrete

It is very necessary to check the levels of foundation before concrete work. There are patches where excavated depth slightly exceeds and vice versa. Concrete is poured as per drawing specs.

Fig 4: Footing Concrete

Depth of foundation varies from 9” to 18” and normally for most of the cases it is considered as 12’’ depth. The foundation width is kept equals to its depth.

5. Column Casting

Casting of columns is made by fixing the shuttering framework and concrete is poured in the formwork. The shuttering is usually removed after 24hr of casting and curing is done.

Fig 5: Column Casting

6. Construction of Walls

Walls are constructed using many materials such as brick, wooden, precast concrete and many other. Before starting the wall construction the base of wall is constructed first using concrete or size stone masonry. The height of the walls depends upon the floor height. Necessary opening are to given for doors, windows and ventilators.

Fig 6: Construction of Walls

7. Lintel

Masonry work of buildings is carried out in one go till roof. Openings for windows & doors are left during masonry works. Reinforced cement concrete beams are laid down on the top of openings. So, those loads of structure above openings not directly come on to the door frames.

8. Roofing

Roof slab of building is poured after completion of masonry works. Now a days, roofing is of reinforced cement concrete slab. Slab thickness & reinforcement details should be according to approved drawings.