People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Unlike the opinion accepted by some, people's behavior is mostly shaped by their immediate surrounding and is not the result of their own making.

A behavior is challenged and stimulated by the environment one is exposed to. Certainly, any student has been under stressful testing conditions during an educational training. Though every individual manage emotions in an idiosyncratic way, stress and exhaustion can push a student to cheat, plagiarize or become either significantly productive, or in the worse case scenario, counterproductive- turning a blank exam back to the examiner. It is the situation per se that generate an impulse and a responsive attitude considered usually typical. Very rarely would one see a stressed student under a standardized test shouting and dancing. He may be biting his nails, shaking his legs and managing his behavior as other student would under similar circumstances.

Furthermore, a behavior is adaptive to a situation. As a matter of fact, it is what life requires and taught humanity. As history has proven through Darwin’s theory of evolution, humans evolved physically through time and circumstances. The environment requiring certain skills for survival are then selected and preserved in our genetic code and passed down from one generation to the next. It is “the survival of the fittest.” The consummate hunter who developed a strong musculature, impressive dexterity and sharp sight will be capable of getting a raft of animals to feed from. It is this adaptive capability that is acquired, and not his innate nature, which depict the painting of evolution and this is the belief dominating the scientific world.

Though behavior is generated in response to outside forces, it is ultimately the choice of the individual to start in a particular path. Indeed, every individual has what is so often referred to as “the free will.” A teenager can choose to drink alcohol and drive or to abstain, even though he or she may be under a social group influence. One can decide to refuse to use drug, even if it has been offered at no charge, not only for the reason being that it is illegal, but because it can be detrimental to one’s health and one’s peer surrounding him or her under influence of the drug. “Free will” has even been mentioned in the bible and is an accepted belief that dominate many religion. In Judaism, Pharaoh may have had his heart hardened by God not to let the Jewish nation leave Egypt, but ultimately it was up to him to decide to enslave them in the first place or to free them from slavery before any of the plagues stroked upon his nation.

Similarly to many beings on earth, humans are given the ability to respond to their surrounding and adapt as indicated. However, it is one’s own decision to choose which route to take at a fork after being directed to an intersection.