The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."Based on a survey conducted by their own marketing department and certain comments by some reviewers, the director made flawed reasoning and drew unconvincing conclusions about the problems responsible for their shrinking market.

The above argument contains many assumptions which are unwarranted. For the following reasons the author's reasoning is flawed.

The first assumption relies on the fact that a decrease in attendance is directly related to the lack of awarenesss toward the public. However, while this may be one of the reasons, causality cannot be assured. In fact, could it be that the decrease in attendance is due to a lack of avalability of those movies at the movie theater. The percentage of positive reviews seems to be increasing but a percentage is only relevant if we know the original count of attendees and by how much is that increase. Even if, their was an increase of five percent, which may not be significant enough to make a deduction, it all depends on how many people saw the movie. If originally one percent gave positive reviews but a thousand people watch the movies and now five percent increase and hundred thousand people watch the movies, certainly the success of the movie is not due to its lack of awareness since about nine hundred and ninety nine people went to watch that movie in one year. A head count of viewers will be necessary to disproove or strengthen the argument.

Secondly, the argument assumes that the decrease in audience does not rely in the quality of the movie but on its lack of advertisement. Though it may be true that not enough advertisement has been done to promote those movies, it does not insure that the movies are appreciated by the public. It may be in fact a reason for a decrease in attendance. Certainly, one have encountered rumors that popular website filter reviews to only positive one to shine through. Could it be the case, that either reviewers did not want to bother to write a review, that reviews were filtered or that all together there was an increase in negative reviews disproportionate to the positive ones. In fact, the statement does not mention anything about the negative reviews which could complain of such poor quality. As such, in order to provide some validity to this claim, the author would need to include either a quality survey to prove it may not be the cause or reflect on the nature of negative reviews if any.

Finally, the author claims that increasing next year budget toward promoting those Super Screen movies should help bring more awareness and raise audience.

A fallacy dominate this claim. Although increasing advertisement may help spread awarness maybe the economy will not allow more people to attend next year. Te economical condition in the past year may not mirror the one in the oncoming year. Increasing awarness may not guarrantee that people will spend the money toward watching those movies as the style may be obsolete or people would like to spend their money on better entertainment. To insure that this measure will be successful the author need to certify that the economical situation and interest towards those movies has not changed or improved in order to be effective.

To conclude may fallacies reside in the above claim that needs to be corrected to make a better assessment of the new measured to follow.