Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

The statement acknowledges that the validity of an argument is greater if it succeeds in convincing one that share an opposing viewpoint. Though it may sometimes be the case, this is not always accurate.

The following claim that convincing someone with a contrasting viewpoint will reflect on the validity of an argument is only partial aggreable, as it fails to take consider that an argument may be shared and as powerful. For instance, it is well known that Canadian winter are quite rough; Roads are icy and slippery, mountain are steep and narrow, and vision may be altered by ongoing snow falls. While debating over government environmental laws, the agencies and citizen parties may both agree that strict restriction are necessary for safety purposes. As such, an argument can be very sharp and convincing while having both sides in agreement regarding the accounted belief. As a matter of fact, winter tire regulations is one of those indispensable rules that needs to be in effect for a safe driving.

Though the argument considers the value of arguing in favor of contrasting viewpoints, it assumes that while defending an idea one will appreciate its value. This may not be the case. A typical example is represented by court cases. Lawyers are employed to advocate in favor of a party whether they agree or not. A popular court case in the United States was that of Casey Anthony who was accused of murdering her young daughter and lying about facts that took place making her suspicious. The lawyer that defended her case may not have agreed with the proof and attitude of her defendant. Nevertheless, a good lawyer is one that can defend an argument that does not parallel his or her belief. In short, it means distancing oneself with our core values and beliefs and finding flaws and loopholes that are in favor of the client.

However, it happens that one experiences a “change of heart,” while taking a side. A typical stereotype in seen in high school while the most popular kid is part of a crew that bully peculiar students. Due to their idiosyncrasy, kids in high school are often mistreated if they are fat, socially awkward, have a family reputation or else. Some kids that either participate or persuade other to do so may suddenly show empathy and defend the bullied kids after seeing the consequences of such bullying. Empathy, compassion and a feeling of guilt takes over and triggers a desire for proper conduct and respect for bullied classmate.

Arguing against does not always generate an appreciation for what or who is being defended. One may simply agree and perceive the value of a case whereas another may defend a case while not agreeing at all. Nevertheless, no matter what initial position is taken, a change of heart is always possible and does occur.