People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making

What factors do determine people’s behavior? The author of the assertion suggests, that the primary force, which determines a person’s behavior comes from the outside world rather than from his own will. Indisputably, a decision-making process has a multifactorial, complex, and sometimes even mysterious nature. It is a way much obscure than it seems to be at first glance. However, I am inclined to disagree with the author’s position and would argue, that the behavior largely depends on an individual, his past experience, set of principles and morals he has. I support my opinion with three arguments, which I elaborate on in further sections.

First of all, I would like to concede, that in childhood people are very susceptible to outside stimuli. The behavior of parents and relatives, who are always around, indeed, largely define a set of principles and morals you will carry further during your life. At this stage of life, a psychic is not mature yet and is extremely senescent to influence from an outside world. However later on during life, in adulthood, the psychology of people reaches a point of maturation. Adult people are already able to make weighted decisions, they already have a set of fixed principles and beliefs. Thus, no matter which force comes from the outside world, the final decision is always a responsibility of an individual, unless he is in an extreme situation, which does not allow him to choose. In the majority of everyday situations, when one decides on whether continue relationships or not, take a job offer, move to another place and etc., the decision-making process is influenced by a myriad of different factors, which include an opinion of other people, tv show which you like the most, social media. This list might be infinite, but in any case, the final decision is made by an individual is a result of the analysis of all received stimuli.

Furthermore, if the author’s statement is true, the society should reconsider the whole legislation, because, according to the assertion, a person, who performed a crime, cannot take responsibility for the factors and influences he received from the outside world. Although this might be true to a certain extent, such an extremely exaggerated point of view might lead to undesirable consequences. For instance, it might significantly confuse a court in making a decision on who should take the punishment for a crime.

To summarize, I would like to emphasize the fact, that decision making is a multifactorial, complex, and quite sophisticated process. Despite this, the central place in decision making is kept for an individual himself. A decision can be made only after conscious and unconscious processing of all the information received from the world by men’s mind.