People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I partially agree with the statement that people’s behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

The term "forces" in the statement may have various meanings. But in this context it means the surroundings, social environment, weather or other people's opinions. It is true that behavior is largely influenced by external forces. The disposition and demeanor of people vary due to different family environment and social influence. For instance, during conversation people who are non-native speaker of English will most certainly have a propensity of speaking in their native language, rather than in English. A child who was brought up by arrogant and abusive parents will have melancholy and invective behavior whereas, a child whose parents are well mannered and educated will have an optimistic view of life.

Though forces have an important role in determining behavior, there are instances where people's free will also determine their behavior. For example, government charges a penalty if a person is found guilty of littering. This law is enacted to prevent people from littering, but to litter or not to litter is still a choice of a person himself (of their own making), the government is referred to as the “forces” in the statement. When it rains people usually run towards the shelter, but it is the free will of a person to choose whether to get wet or find a shed.

In conclusion, the statement is partially true, the forces according to the situation determine the behavior, but there is a free will also present which can describe the behavior.