Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Politicians play a great role in improving the economy of a nation. Hence, they have to think smart and perform the right task at the right time. The author contends that politicians must follow commonly stated opinions rather than his own belief. In my opinion, I partially disagree with the author for the following reasons.

To begin with, government should provide the highest priority towards the welfare of the society. Hence, politicians should hear problems faced by people and resolve them. For example, In India, two of the major issue faced by women are sexual harassment and rape. As women gathered and protested in front of the Indian high court, government announced a law to hang people who are involved in disturbing women. Therefore, politicians should consider problems faced by every citizen and provide a righteous solution.

However, there are also people in the society who are in common ground for opposing the good welfare of the nation. The government should not bluntly consider societies problem without proper judgements. For instance, consider a law that is introduced in a nation where, people who drink and drive would be severely punished with fine and jail. Even though the law does well to the society, there will be people who would oppose the law. Maybe they are the people who prefer to drink and drive. Hence, it is important for the politicians to not hastily follow the majority.

Also, there are situations when politician’s belief improved the economy of a nation. For example, Mahatma Gandhi is known as the father of India and as a freedom fighter. He had his own belief that non-violence will win freedom for India whereas there were many people who didn’t believe his words and would try to convince Gandhi to start a war. But he stood alongside his words of non-violence. Thus, politician’s belief and determination can also prove to improve a nation’s economy.

In conclusion, politicians need to have their own passion and goal to produce an improved nation. However, societies views should also be considered while planning future goals.