Prompt: The best idea arises from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Twenty first century has been blessed by a surfeit of creative, intelligent and extra-ordinary minds. We are living in such a developed times that the technologies, we encounter, nowadays, were just beyond the wildest imagination of our ancestors. Hence, all this does creates a question in our mind, Who came with such ideas?, What inspired them to break the wheel and design something new?, Was their invention something out of the blue or was it a simple transcendence of ordinary, banal life-events?. Different people will have different views on this matter and no-one can prove the superiority of one, but in my view all such great ideas simply arose form a passionate, incessant effort and interest in making something better out of everyday things. So, I completely agree with the given prompt and would like to justify my thesis on the basis of following three examples.

Modern world is blessed by "high-tech" technological innovations. Such, technologies have been an inherent part of our everyday life. However, a question arises, What galvanized the creators to invent such inventions? Or What was the thing that sparked their mind?. The answer to this is simple, it was just a careful observance of everyday things. For instance, let us look at the invention of the mighty flying machines" Aero planes". This technologically sophisticated flying machines was the gift to us by the Wright Brothers, they were the one who first drew the basic work plan of the first ever man made flying machine, and what was their inspiration. Was it a vision form an extra dimensional being? Or a superior intelligence granted by our creator? No, it was just a simple observance of the birds flying in the sky and their passionate adherence to the dream of creating something similar. All the scientific innovations have been made because of similar understanding of the everyday life. Nature stroke earth with lightening and primitive man studied it, to create fire. Spark produced by the friction of water with stone, inspired us to generate electricity. So, as it is seen most of the greatest idea of our generation, was simply a passionate copy of everyday things.

Furthermore, let us look at the life of some of the world greatest minds. The brilliance of Mark Zuckerberg is undeniable. His creation- Facebook- has stormed the modern era and every man hooked up with internet, now has a Facebook profile. He single handedly revolutionized global communication. A man at the north pole can chat up, with his friend living in the other end of the globe, just by opening a simple application in his device. So, the question arises, what inspired Mr. Zuckerberg to create this application, and the answer is well-known, Facebook was created not because of some mysterious happenings, but simply due to his desire to find an easy way to communicate with his friends. The same example can be taken from the discovery of gravity by Newton. We all have heard the famous anecdote of a ripe apple falling in his head, and how this inspired him to search further and propound the laws of gravity. This simple observance of a fruit falling from a tree, urged him to derive such complex equations of gravitational motion. All this shows, that some of the greatest mind of our world, got their idea of creation just by having a strong predilection to extrapolate the understanding of everyday life.

Apart from the examples of science, I would like to put up a simple story I read in my primary school. The story was about King Robert of Scotland. He was a wise and brave king and had a desire to conquer England. However, his army could not succeed and was forced back six times. The last attack was such a fiasco, that the king himself had to run away and hide in a cave. In the cave, the king espied a sight of a spider, who was trying to weave a web by throwing it across the edge of a slippery rock. No matter how many times she tried, she could not succeed and this reminded the king of his similar fate. However, the difference was that the king was already crestfallen and planning to give up, but the spider had a different intention. She tried and tried and gave up only after succeeding. This simple act of perseverance, inspired the king to continue on his attack and finally claim his victory. This story easily justifies, how such simple things, when followed by great passion can lead to us beautiful achievement.

In conclusion, it is true that only having a passionate observance of commonplace things cannot lead us to great achievements, if it was so, then everybody would have written their name in history. Of course, there is need of constant determination, will power and colossal effort. However, in the absence of an idea, all these things do not matter and cannot lead to great accomplishments.