Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problem in a way that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Life is not simple and full of tracks of ups and down. People often judge each other about anything. Some of them people take that judgement as reason to improve their weakness and some take the same thing as a insult. A lot of scandals take place all around us in everyday life. Even in some of them, we are the making that jaudgement and in some we are the one on which that judgement was done. The claim suggest that insulting someone is sometimes useful because it draws attention in such a way that nobody else can do.

At the begining, consider the example of the big Techgiant "Ravindra Kumar". During his college days, he was very silent and introvert type of person. One day in the class, he was very much insulted by his Professor and felt preety much insulted. He went to his hostel room that day sobbing all the way. He was feeling insulted and when he reached his room, he analyzed the whole situation and felt that he need to improve his weakness to such a level that nobody can taunt him ever again. Now, is the day when the complete world recognises him as the "Perfect Dude". So, seen in this example many times taunts do work as reason to improve yourself because it draws your attention very fast.

On the contrary, consider the example of Shyam Mehta, the only son of the owner of Tata Insdustries. A similar type of event occured with Shyam but he acted after that in a very different manner. He does the complete opposite of what the Ravindra had done. Instead of taking the insult as reason to improve himself, he take that reason for granted and start feeling that he is limited in his capabilities. That he can't do anything good in his life and that he is born to be like this. His father tried to counselled him but nothing worked out. Finally, felling oppressed from a lot of time he comitted suicide.

Putting it all together, I would like to conclude that scandals are useful and help to draw our attention to our weakness. But, this also depends upon the person on which it is acted or meant to be. Some take the same reason a motive of their life to succeed in life and some like Shyam go for the opposite path. I think these scandals are useful but not in all cases.