To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study it's major cities.

Societies in now these days consist of large variation of religion, culture, and ethinicities. As the times goes on, it is going to be more and more complex. But to understand the some charcteristics of a society, one should study the major cities. But this theory is not all full-proof and have some pitholes in it. As some societies are formed not by mere wish of the people there but may be due to partition, any kind of war or may be due to the transpotation of people from one place to another.

At first, let us take the eample of country like India, where a large variation of societies and ethinicities live together at the same time. The idea of the issue that visiting the major cities reveals a large number of important charcteristice about the various societies living there. In this case, as you see at the history of the country you'll discover some major religion like Hindu, Muslim as the main ruling parties. Most of the major cities are created mainly by these two religions. But a large number of religions live together there in India mostly because some minority religions are came as a mode of transpotation and setteled there pemanently like Parsi, Buddisht, Bengali and so on.

Furthermore, let take the example of Pakistan. There you'll find majorly Mosques and Gurudwara's but the population of Sikh community living there is minute. So, as in this case we can see that the major cities of a place doesn't reveal the all needed truth about the important charcteristics of the society. Most basic reason for this imparity in Pakistan is because of the reason that it is formed by partition. Likewise, take the example of Germany where in history the majority were Jews and Nazis. But after the rule of the Dictator Adolf Hitler, he changed the course of the history. Today the Jews in the Germany are rare to be found about. Again we see that the major cities doesn't reveal all the truth even as the most of infrastructural work done by the Adolf Hitler.

Putting all together, we can understand that in some scenarios the idea of the issue does workout but in many other cases it simply doesn't work. I agree that the major cities in the country helps to understand the societies but I would also like to add that all important charteristics doesn't get reveled from this method. In many cases, this theory doesn't even work where the country may be formed due to partition, war may be some other reason that the people of that paticular even don't want to live there at all.