Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claims that scandals help us to focus our attention on problems in ways no speaker ever could. I generally disagree with this contention for the following reasons.

To begin, when a person gets trapped in any scandal, their primary focus lies on how to vindicate themselves from the scandal. To illustrate this let us take an example of a political scandal. In any political scandal, like senator getting involved in an extramarital affair during his or her term in the Senate, once the scandal comes out in public, then the main aim becomes how to come out of that scandal rather than focusing on the problem. While finding ways to come out of the problem, many a time, these people get involved in more wrongdoings or unscrupulous acts or even criminal activities. Thus, both from personal experience and common sense we can understand that scandals can never help us to focus our attention on problems.

Furthermore, scandals give rise to public outrage and social humiliation. Now, imagine if a person who is innocent but has been framed in a scandal then what will be his or her mental situation. That person will be demoralized which can even lead him or her into depression and anxiety. Public appearance becomes an issue.

On the other hand, media will sensationalize the news on different public platforms. Due to this, that person feels disgraced and takes up mean of self-destruction or even have a tendency to commit suicide. Therefore, it reveals that scandal can never help us to focus on our problems.

Finally, some might argue that if a person gets involved in any scandal then due to public shame they will learn their lesson. This assertion can be true sometimes but in most of the cases, it proves otherwise as people find means to come out of the problem rather than focusing on the same.

In conclusion, a scandal is never useful in anyone's life but it can prove to be a game plan for people in opposition, who can use the same to manipulate the situation and make it work in their favor.