Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claims that scandals help us to focus our attention on problems in ways no speaker ever could. I generally disagree with this contention for the following reasons.

To begin, when a person gets trapped in any scandal, their primary focus lies on how to vindicate themselves from the scandal. To illustrate this let us take an example of a political scandal like a Senator getting involved in an extramarital affair during his or her terms in the Senate or a leaked video of a high ranking government official involved in some heinous criminal activity. Once the scandal comes out in public, then the main aim becomes how to cover up the same rather than focusing on the problem. Many a time, while finding ways to come out of the problem, these people get involved in more wrongdoings or unscrupulous acts or even criminal activities. Sometimes we can even find that politicians try to gain an advantage of such situations and through their vicious verbal attack try to demean the accused politician so as to manipulate the voters during an election campaign. Thus, both from personal experience and common sense we can understand that scandals can never help us to focus our attention on problems.

Furthermore, scandals give rise to public outrage and social humiliation. Now, imagine if an innocent person gets framed in a scandal due to someone else's social or political or economic gain; or to cover up some other big event, then what will be his or her mental state. This might lead to the termination of their current job or even can end their prosperous career forever. In such cases, public appearance becomes an issue because he or she will be under constant scrutiny and criticized no matter where they go. Devastated and demeaned by everyone can eventually lead him or her into depression and anxiety. On the other hand, media will sensationalize the news on different public platforms. Due to this, many a time we find these people taking up means of self-destruction or even have a tendency to commit suicide. Therefore, such examples reveal that scandal can never help us to focus on our problems.

Finally, some might argue that when a person gets involved in any scandal then due to public shame they will learn their lesson and will think twice next time before getting involved in any such action. This assertion can be true sometimes but in most of the cases, it proves otherwise as people find means to come out of the problem rather than learning their lesson.

In conclusion, a scandal is never useful in anyone's life but it can prove to be a game plan for people in the opponent team, who can use the same to manipulate the situation and make it work in their favor.