Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action.

Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of an action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing that action.

The argument claims that an action is morally correct if the result has more goodness than badness. I generally agree with this contention for the following reasons.

To begin, we often observe that in order to achieve something good, at times, we might need to do certain things which are not that great. For example, let us take the example of the legendary folklore character, Robin Hood. We all have read about Robin Hood, how he used to rob from the rich and distribute the robbed items among the poor. Apparently, it might seem that he played a negative character, as robbing someone is not a fair deed, but if we observe very closely, we can understand that his reasons behind robbery were not immoral. He genuinely wanted to help the poor to thrive as in those days economically deprived people used to be tortured and harassed by the rich. Hence, we can say that in spite of being an outlaw, his actions were morally correct.

Furthermore, sometimes, when parents scold their children, the children might feel that their parents do not love or care for them. On the other hand, since parents love and care too much for their children, they tend to guide them when they feel that their children are doing something wrong. At times, this might be in terms of scolding, but they do not mean any harm to the children, rather prevent them from doing activities which are inappropriate for their age. For example, if a parent finds his son smoking at the age of ten, then he should refrain his son from that habit. In the beginning, he might try to talk, explain the disadvantages of smoking, but still if his son continues with this habit, then the parent is left with little choice but to scold him and in that case, it is totally justified.

Finally, some might argue that immoral actions cannot be justified, even if the result is for the greater good. While it is irrefutable to deny it, but it is probably beneficial if we judge the actions on a broader perspective and try to understand whether the outcomes are doing more good than bad.

In conclusion, we need to understand that an action should be judged as moral or immoral based on the outcomes. If the result is for the general good, then we may call the action to be moral.