“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

The argument claims that if money on municipal garbage disposal fees has to be saved, then residents of Masontown needs to recycle their waste products.He even proposes to organize an advertising campaign to encourage the residents to practice the same.Sated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key points on the basis of which it could be evaluated.The conclusion relies on assumption,for which there is no clear evidence. Therefore, the argument is rather weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, the argument readily claims that encouraging residents of Masontown to recycle their wastes, will help to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees.However, the author has not provided any evidence to prove the same.In fact, if the author would have provided some examples to show how recycling waste products is bringing down the garbage disposal fees in Masontown,the argument could have been strengthened even further.

Second, the argument claims that since the time Hayesworth passed a law requiring all households to recycle paper and glass,its garbage disposal costs has significantly decreased.This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between the facts how recycling paper and glass has lowered garbage disposal costs.On the other hand, there is no evidence to prove that households has started recycling paper and glass in the fear of fine.It might be the case that residents of Hayesworth are genuinely concerned about environmental pollution and has started using eco-friendly products, thus reducing the usage of glass and paper.Hence, without sufficient evidence, the argument does not sound convincing.

Finally, the argument concludes that implementing advertising campaign to encourage the residents of Masontown to recycle waste products then Masontown would save money on disposal of its wastes.From this statement again, it is not at all clear how advertising campaign will help to encourage the residents to recycle and Masontown will save money on disposal of waste.Without supporting evidence and examples ,one is left with the impression that the claim is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence. As a result, this conclusion has no legs to stand on.

In summary, the argument is flawed and therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts. In order to assess the merits of a certain situation, it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors.