Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claims that educational institutions like schools and colleges have a responsibility to prevent students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. This is contention with which I generally disagree for the following reasons.

To begin, educational institutions have the responsibility to make well-rounded students, but which subject or field of study the student is interested to take, it should solely depend on the student only. The student should be entitled to choose the course of study and no institution should be liable to make any decision on behalf of the student. To illustrate this, let us take an example of a Computer Science major student. If this student wants to only focus on subjects relevant to his or her interest like Computer Architecture, Operating System and Algorithm then the institution can support his or her decision but whether he will take up management subjects like Industrial Management or Financial Management that should be the student's call and the institution should not impose their thoughts on any student. In this way, the student will be able to make their own decision and decide their future track of study.

Furthermore, lets think about those undecided students who have yet not decided which major they are willing to take up and are still exploring different avenues of fields of study. They need to explore the great array of subjects in order to make up their mind which field of study is aligned with their interest. now, in such cases, if the educational institutions dissuade the students from taking up coursework which they as per their understanding feels that the student are unlikely to succeed then it will not be a fair evaluation on the choice of subjects. This will even prove to be more harmful because the student might not be comfortable with the chose curriculum and might perform badly.

Finally, some might argue that since these institutions have so many years of experience, their judgment will not fail the student in their life. While this assertion is true to a certain extent as these institutions have prepared a huge number of students for their next journey of life after graduation, but to assume that every student will succeed in life following the same mantra as some did before is wrong.

In conclusion, the student should have the liberty to chose the field of study as per their interest and the educational institutions can support their choice and help them to succeed in it.