Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

scandals are something which causes disruption among people when somebody says something which the society does not approve of or any unethical behavior causes a scandal. The author say's that they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.it can be true as you always learn from your mistakes when something huge comes out from your mistake it makes other's as well yourself to be very cautious, but few scandals might not be that important notice or it might fail to create an impact.

Let's take an example, everybody has heard of hardik pandya an indian cricketer he was called on to talk show called Koffee with karan where they ask you random questions about your personal and professional life. So when hardik pandya has answered few questions in an improper way which caused a huge scandal. he was suspended from the cricket team for a small amount of time but later everybody has forgotton it and moved on. but it did create an impact on people about the improper behavior.

when there is political scandal like a politician is caught due to corruption or any other unethical behavior. it creates an awareness to others as well that electing such politicion might not benefit the country rather it might turn upside down as they have the power to protect themselves. these scandals create a lot awareness in the society which in turn start's making the rules much strict.

Another example of such scandals are accidents. In India there were lot of issues regarding traffic rules and regulation. The public never gave an eye to such rules, but then it started causing accidents in one such incident a small child of four years old was badly effected by it and passed away. this created a huge impact on everybody. The public started realising their mistakes and the rules were made much stricter. if not followed there would be punishments or fine. this scandal helped in taming of the people but at a cost of kid's life.

few scandals are useful as they help in realising the problems and solving it.As they create an awareness among people to not repeat such mistakes. if just said about these scandals normally it would not have created an impact. people have voiced out their problems which helps in solving.