The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum from the business manager of a television station suggests that Last year, late-night news program has concentrated more on national news and less time on weather or local news. During this time period many view's complained to the station stating that there is less coverage over local news. And the local businesses that used to advertise contracts with the television station has cancelled their contacts. Therefore in order to attract more viewer's to the program and to avoid loosing any further contracts their business manager suggested to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

Firstly, Does the late-night news channel concentrate completely on national news. We do not know if the channel where they are broadcasting is a national channel or a local channel. Broadcasting local news on a national channel is of not much use as all the people around the country might not be interested in some petty local new's. Lets take an example if the local is new's is very huge like some major frequent accident's in a particular area can be broadcasted or a bunch of thieves try to attack people for their gain or major political decision or fights can be published but if the channel starts publishing road damage and small political issues then it might not be of much use to other people of different places.

Secondly, The author said local businesses that used to advertise the during the late-night news program has canceled their contract. There might be particular reason why the local businesses has canceled their contracts. There might be chance that many people might not be watching television late night or advertisements in the late nights might not be much entertain to the viewer's. Without any particular reason of the cancellation the author cannot link two different issue's with each other.

Finally, We know that the new's which is broadcast-ed is a late night show. There might be not much viewer's who watch the new's completely as they have to wake up early and get back to their works. So we know that students and morning workers tend to avoid the show unless it's only broadcasted on weekend's. So there might be few viewer's who might watch the show as we do not know the proper count because it not mentioned one cannot determine the number of complaints. And we also dont know if the number of complaints is more on local news or weather.

So we can conclude from the above discussion that as there is less information we cannot directly restore the time devoted to weather and local new's. If the author provides the information of number of complaints on each and the type of channel one can decide to restore the time duration for local and weather news.