College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The Author suggests that college students should base their choice of field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Firstly for any student the choice of interest matters the most. If the students selects a field in which they are not interested they wont perform properly. They wont try to give their best or try for excellency. Even if the specific field has very few jobs if the student is very much interested in that field then he should opt for that field as he will try his level best to excel. Example if a student is more interested in cooking or wants to become a chef and if parents force them to go engineering as there are more jobs availability then he might be a very bad engineer.

Secondly, If the student just wants to go with the flow or follow the crowd. They should have at least little idea of what they are going to do. As they know the advantages and dis-advantages of following the crowd. As recently in India there are more than engineer's required because before there were very few engineer's as the availability of jobs increased the crowd choose the engineer's filed. Now there are more than required engineer's and many of them does not have any jobs. So they should be ready to face the consequences when they choose due to availability of jobs.

Lastly, The base is very important for creation of building similarly college and studies are very important for the student. It creates a proper base in their life. If the base is strong the building does not fall. It holds down the entire building.If at all there are more number of jobs and very few employee's the student can select that field based on their interest as they know they can grow in that specific field and be successful to with hold their future properly. But the student should enjoy what they are doing. If not at least they should try to be active in what they are studying.