According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above argument says that cheating among college and university students have increased. But there is one college "Groveton college" which has successfully reduced the student cheating by adopting the honor code, which makes the students not to cheat during their academic test's and they can also notify their faculty if somebody else has been cheating. According to the college the cheating has decreased from thirty to twenty-one and five years later it decreased to fourteen.

However, the use of the honor code is to trust the students to act honorably, if they violate the rule they can expelled or face severe consequences. Few of the students who might have cheated must have escaped without anybody's notice.There might be few cases which might have not come in to light or which might have not been reported.

According the Groventon college students said that they are less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. This might not be applicable to all the different college's as rules and code's differ from college to college. Groventon's college might have severe punishment when they violate the rule so the students are less likely to violate it. The monitoring system of groventon's college might also be different. It might work if the other colleges have same set of rules and monitoring.

Before the honor code was adopted the faculty used to monitor it. It was reported that an average of thirty students per year who cheated. There might be case in that year were most of the subjects were difficult to understand. The test's might have increased their difficulty level to check with their students. Without the complete information one cannot abide it to all the different college's and universities.

Thus, it can be concluded that without the full information about that particular year one cannot adopt the honor code to all the different universities and college. If abide then rules and regulations must be same as the Groveton's college.