Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scandals are the inevitable part of any society. Basically, scandals are unethical actions which are not accepted by the people of the society. I completely agree with the claim that the Scandals are useful in order to focus our attention on the problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scandals allows to get more attention from the people and hence put pressure on the authorities to investigate the issue and punish the guilty. For example, in India it came to light that many businessmen left the country by taking huge loans from the banks and failed to repay the loans. As this issue was brought to focus, the government changed the rules and made laws more strict so that in the future this event will not occur again.

Speaker or reformer could have brought the issue forward but the speaker or the reformer can reach only a few people within a limited area. But Scandals are spread like wildfires and hence reach maximum people forcing the authorities to take some effective actions against it.

However, scams may not always be true and in many cases, they are just rumors. These rumors can sometime destroy the reputation of a person and due to which person has to face many problems even if the he/she is not guilty. In some cases, false scams even lead to unrest among the people and hence the people should give a careful attention to these problems and take their stand in an intelligent manner.

This it is evitable that the scandals play a pivotal role in order to bring focus of the mass on the problems. And as scandals reach majority mass of the people it tries to expose the institution, people and hence purify the system.