Society' roles rely not only in providing its leaders competitive skills within a growing economy, but to also teach them the importance of working with a team in order to be succesful in their endeavors.

The argument claims that the society is incumbent on preparing future leaders by installing in them cooperation rather than competition. While this statement may have some validity to it, it is important to look at the roles that leaders possess.

Providing the scenario of an import export company in the clothing industry trying to obtain a clothing deal, the CEO of such company would be required to have an efficient team to direct its calculated moves and to execute his orders, while in the same time, be competitive with other similar companies in the industry. As such, both skills; cooperation and competition are needed, but are used in different circumstances.

In addition, challenging a leader who feel threatened to lose his position, may in fact, stimulate his productivity. Tenure in the education system hinder professors who have no stimulus to improve their skills. This is the analogy of the dunkey and the carrot. It the dunkey already receveived his carrot, why would he try to move faster and please his rider? In the same way, a leader who is not persistently challenged and takes his position for granted will not seek to improve the logistic of a company. Only when flaws are identified, and a reason is given to do so, can a leader direct his energy toward ameliorating a situation.

As a matter of fact, even though one may have such desire, most of the time a competent team is needed. A leader may not have the time or the skills necessary to succeed alone. For example, if a technological developper aims to produce an application for iphone, while he may have the managing skills to convince investisor to subsidize the development, he may not have the skills to produce the application necessary. The developper and CEO of this company will require the tedious work of an extensive team to realize this accomplishment. Therefore, working hand in hand with a team is indispensable as well to be competitive.

While the argument has some validity, it is primordial to consider the role of a leader in an industry and how both competitive and cooperative skills are expected from a leader. Competition will insure a high quality product and services, while cooperation, will insure its realization.

The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.