Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Selecting a subject for their major can be one of the most tedious job that students might have to do in their life. They have to go through a lot of considerations since a lot are in stake and are dependent on this decision. The prompt recommends taking a decision that enables them to pursue the major which interests them than the one which might have a safe future as per the employment perspectives. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue that students should pursue what interests them for the following two reasons.

To begin, the job, which might seem prolific and fecund at a certain time period might not remain the same forever. So, to choose one’s profession solely based on the availability of the job is a short term perspective and can backfire. The job market is ever-changing and what might be the acme of today might not even be considered later on. For example, mechanical engineering, one of the oldest field in engineering was once which interests the most of the students because of their high scope in industry, as most of the jobs in the industry at that period were related to manufacturing and design. But the time have changed now, today in the twenty first century artificial intelligence, robotics, programming, etc. computer engineering related fields have supplanted the reputation which once was hold by mechanical engineering because they offer high pay grade and less ground work. Thus, from the example provided above, one can think that job marking is not stagnant but is unpredictable. So one question to be answered is that, like current technological boom, will the computer engineering field still possess the job prospects in the future? History tells us that it will not.

Further if we assume that the market is not dynamic and is unchanging as gravity, pursuing profession against our will and interest will still not be effective because we will not be able to work up to the mark due to lack of enthusiasm in that work . Our happiness plays and important role defining the quality of work done by us. There is a saying that “if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid “. The same applies to humans as well; we will just think that we are not smart enough for the job which will cause us to lose our self-steem and motivation from the life. For example, considered as world’s best football player , Christiano Ronaldo if had chosen teaching as his career just for the sake of secured future, he might not be as famous as he is today as teaching is not his passion. Research has shown that, perhaps above all other factors happiness has the most direct impact on the performance of an individual ability to do a job. Thus, government should be encouraged to establish the environment in the country where the students are interested in pursuing their career such that they also get happiness from the job rather than just an increase in their bank balance.

Ofcourse , some people argue that because of the increasing economy it is very competitive to secure a good job such that people should be more focused towards the profession which has practical paths. But how can we be so sure that just by choosing the highly productive job is going to be so secured if we don’t any interest in it? It is very much likely that we will be removed from the job because of our inability to work as per the requirement s. Conversely, if we work hard in the field which interests us, it is likely that we will do the best job possible and are likely to compete at the highest level.