The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms(. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The article in the business magazine suggests that a business will prosper only if those people are hired who needs less than six hours of sleep per night. The author has come to this conclusion based on the recent study of the average hours of sleep of 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives and the success of their firms. However, before this argument can be suggested, two questions must be answered.

Firstly, just based on the survey of a few firms, can it be generalized for all the other firms? While it might be true, that the people sleeping less in the studied group might be performing well, but it might not necessarily be true that their better performance was just because they sleep less. It might be possible that the firms which had more success were because they only hire hard-working and diligent employees such that less sleep has minimal effect on their performance as compared to the other firms. It might also be possible that the employees who showed better performance with less sleep might already be familiar with working in this type of situation as they might have to do arduous work for the firm they work such that they might already have the habit of sleeping fewer hours before the survey was even conducted. If either of the scenarios shown has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, does the higher profit margin and higher growth of the firms be solely because they have less sleeping employees? It might be possible that the working environment of the firms which showed success be more suitable the other firms such that the employees working there remain motivated working diligently for the firm. For example, the cooperation between the manager and the staffs might be good enabling harmonious working conditions in the firm which eventually help in the faster growth of the firm. If the above is true, the claim that firms make faster growth solely because their employees sleep not more than six hours is flawed.

In conclusion, the argument as of now is based on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can provide pieces of evidence probably in the form of systematic research and answer the above-raised questions, then it will be possible to determine whether the suggestion for hiring only those people who sleep not more than six hours for the success of the firm holds water