Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The issue of whether the competition of high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom is a contentious one. Both the sides have strengths and weaknesses, however, I believe, getting good marks not always apply that you have a significant knowledge about the subject but it shows the traits of you being hardworking and being persistent. While not getting a high grade implies you have a practical knowledge or you learned the subject better. The competition to earn higher score might lead to rote learning concepts and not understanding the subject.

First, for some students competition of high grades motivate them to study better. Pushing yourself an extra mile to study the subject, implies that you are more persistent and hardworking person. Moreover, it also shows that you are able to work under pressure. This is based on one, to get into a race of scoring high grades, but if you learn the concept and understand the subject better there is no way to perform badly.

Furthermore, it not always implies that high grades are achieved only by rote learning concepts. Its import to be uncompromising in getting the real sense of the thing you learned. The students need to encourage to think critically and ask questions like why?. It’s important for the student to understand why are they learning and understand the practical application of the subject.

However, the other section who believes that competition of high grade might seriously limit the quality of real learning is also true in some sense. For example, a student just rote learning and pucking answer in the exam is a serious concern. The student will not able to excel in the future. Also, it is important for one to build interest in the subject, which help to learn about the subject better and to think out of box.

In conclusion, I believe learning concepts and understanding subject is more important. And eventually understanding the subject would not limit you to score high grades. But, just running the rat race without having practical knowledge is waste and hinder the real learning.