Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Should the development of a society by means of arts be promoted by the government through financial aid? Arts play a very important role in the development of a society. Arts can be any form of aesthetic represention of something done by the people. It could either be a dance form or a painting or some textile work or rather a sculpture.

India, has a plethora of art works which have flourished since many years and are still existing. The state of Gujarat is famous for the textile work. Sarees (a clothing material) come in different forms and some of the most famous are Bandhani and Patoda. These have intricate designs which require a lot of hard work and precision. If the government is financially helping the people who are engaged in this work then these sarees could be available to the common people to wear and appreciate the art work which is inscribed on it.

In ancient times in India, dance forms were basically introduced as a form of entertainment for the kings, gods and godesses. These dance forms then took form of a narration of the epic tales of Mahabharata and Ramayana. It was also believed that performing these dances could help to invoke the deities to gain blessings. Some of these dance forms are Bharatnatyam, Kathak and Kuchipudi. Since these are several years old it would be necessary to preserve the art form for the further generations to know the richness and diversity of their culture. Therefore, government incentives would encourage people to learn. actively participate and spread the knowledge of these art forms.

Europe, is very well famous for the artistic work of the artists like Pablo Picasso and MichaelAngelo. The preservation of the paintings of these and many more talented artists in the form of museums can be witnessed there. The government of Vienna spends significant amount for this purpose. The number of visitors visiting annually keeps incrementing by 10 percent of the previous year subsequently. This aid has helped increase the popularity of these works and has also helped in augmenting the daily income of the households.

On the other hand, a different perspective could be that people are engaged in arts because of their own passion and self-satisfaction. Also, it could be possible that the people developing it do not want to spread it to the common people. In this instance, the funding of government could prove to be a hinderance in the natural flouring of the arts. Making a precious art available to the people could threaten its integrity as others could try to duplicate it and then present it as their own art work.

In sum, the funding of government could either prove to be a boon or bane for the people who are engaged in its creation. However, since works of art are crucial to the development and preservation of a society, their availability to common people would indeed prove to be a boon for the people in the society and across the globe.