The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The given argument has falsely concluded that if the proposed measure is passed it will lead to an increase in housing prices of the Maple County. This argument has taken into consideration several assumptions and has spuriously based the conclusion on it.

Firstly, the concern of the council that the restriction on the development of the existing farmland would increase the prices is based on two real examples where the implementation has taken. The number of people living in the county has not been given and it has been assumed that the number of people will either remain the same or increase in the future. Further, the assumption that only restricting the development will affect the prices is false. There can be several other factors in play like the demand of the housing, the weather conditions, the stock market prices and the quality of housing construction provided there.

Secondly, the fact the proponents of the measure are giving is based on some other county. Therefore, what was suitable in the county may not be appropriate for this county. Also, the results are ten years older so it leaves significant space for them to get changed over these several years. The same policy when implemented now in that county might work out differently. It could be possible that Chestnut county before ten years did not have a strong economy as opposed to the economy of Maple County.

Thirdly, the belief of the opponents in what happened to Pine County when it adopted the same restrictions fifteen years ago is very weakly held. It is given that the restriction was only posed on residential housing and no information is provided for the commercial housing. Also, the results are fifteen years old and the county is different so what was witnessed there may not be seen currently in the Maple county.

In both instances, no information is provided about the support of the government through financial means. It could be possible that of Chestnut County was able to give a significant amount of support to the housing companies whereas the council of Pine county failed in doing so. Whatever may be the reason for those counties, no data is given of the measures which the Council of Maple county will take in order to face this situation.

Finally, the conclusion is very vague since it cannot be corroborated with any statistical data. Only if appropriate knowledge of the factors which can affect Maple county currently would be known instead of relying on what happened to other counties then the integrity of the conclusion could be known.