People's behaviour is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Behaviour is an inherent attribute of human beings whose cause is often dubious. The way we react in our life to our surroundings, is it a reflection of our own selves or does it get its root from external forces? The fact that one’s behaviour is a result of the naturally generated thoughts with in one’s mind shows that even in presence of external forces, it is ultimately up to an individual whether to get influenced by those forces or not.

From the ancient times in India as well as throughout the world, women have always been treated as inferior to men. Women due to the relatively soft construct of their bodies as opposed to men have never participated in great numbers or they have never been encouraged to participate in sports. Following this general trend, most women took up the job of caring for their families and children; spending almost their complete lives doing household chores. However, women like Mary Kom and Gita Phogat,- Indian Boxer and wrestler have proved that going against the norms for the purpose of one’s self-satisfaction and passion can make one what one has become now.

Moreover, the great leaders like Mahatma Gandhi and Jawaharlal Nehru have been the epitome of leadership with selflessness. At the time when India had been acquired by Britishers, there were millions of people suffering throughout the country and thousands of others had lost their lives. Mahatma Gandhi then was deeply saddened by looking at the grievances of the people took a responsibility to get the country rid of the foreign invaders. Though his attitude was influenced by the surroundings it was only his inner which helped him to decide to take a staunch stand for the independence of his country and his beloved countrymen and women.

On the other hand, the increase in the number and usage of social media platforms have largely shaped the perceptions of people based on what other people think. The augmenting need of the girls to look thinner and fairer has changed the way they behave in their routine life. As a result, people have become more conscious of their own selves. Several instances have come up recently that people drown in the river or flood while taking selfies with the deluge in the backdrop as a requirement to boast on social media.

Therefore, it is quite debatable to determine whether one’s behaviour is actually one’s own or rather influenced externally. Nevertheless, being rational beings it is always upon one to think over what defines one and one’s attitude towards people and one’s life.