Nature’s Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature’s Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville’s schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument has falsely concluded that the opening of the new fanchise of Nature’s way store will prove to be successful in the town of Plainsville. There are several assumptions which have been spuriously taken into account without their validity for the support of the conclusion.

Firstly, the statement that the sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all time high does not state that residents are actually fit and healthy. It might be possible that the residents simply glean all the stock related to fitness but never use them. Moreover, there might be a possibility that are only few shops available in the town for the sports-related items. Additionally, there is no information provided about the number of people living there. If there are more people as opposed to the number of shops then that can also result in the fallacy stated above.

Secondly, the increased enrolment in local health clubs does not tell one that the residents are already living healthy lives. The residents may be unhealthy and so they have started to join weight training and aerobics classes. This could have been a result of a necessary action to take care of one’s health for all the residents of the town as a part of the new law passed there. The timing of the classes when they run is also not mentioned. Initially, the timings could have been inflexible but now due to greater flexibility it might have seen an increase in enrolments.

Thirdly, participation of the school children in a fitness-for-life program does not make it mandatory for them to have health food or health-related products. Since the school children would have been exercising from an early age it might be possible that when they grow up they would already be healthy so they would not require any external health food to remain healthy. If the current generation of children decide to accomplish their lives in some other town, then the assumption of the store will most seriously not work.

Finally, if the people of the town were actually healthy then the consideration that there might be other stores selling health food and health-related products has not been taken into account. The people might already be using those products and trusting them over the years upon which they place their credibility for their health.

In sum, if the reasons for the success of Nature’s way store would have been scrutinised more closely and the assumptions which are stated above would have been taken into consideration then only the actual outcome could have been predicted.