Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

With rising sea levels and more extreme temperatures every year, it’s hard to ignore the effects of global warming. Giant advances in technology have allowed humans to seek alternative forms of renewable energy instead of relying on fossil fuels as our only option. Carbon emissions and greenhouse gasses which are by-products of modern industrialization have caused this problem which dooms the planet. Year by year, resources diminish, there are more severe crop shortages, all due to the abuse of our environment. It’s imperative to fix the issue by adopting more sustainable practices and inform the planet’s citizens why it’s important.

More developed countries tend to use more resources, since there’s a greater demand for it due to a higher population of citizens and a necessity to sustain industry and economy. Twenty story office buildings need to inhabit thousands of employees throughout the day, keep the lights on, make sure temperature is regulated, take care of their waste, and more. Translated to a much greater scale, imagine cities across the world which support billions of citizens in need of power in order to operate. Since they are the greatest consumers of energy, it’s up to them to make the greatest impact by switching to renewable energy sources. Making the change may seem daunting, but it’s simpler than it seems.

Firstly, the adoption of solar panels have the capability to negate a city’s carbon footprint. By powering a society’s cars and buildings with renewable energy, we would effectively fix the energy consumption crisis. Building solar farms, and transitioning from gas to electric vehicles may be drastic, but a person of economic means in a developed society must participate in this migration in order to undo the effects of global warming. For others who don’t have the means, they still can make a difference by separating their compostable and recyclable materials, and purchase products made from sustainably sourced materials.

Everyone should aim to prioritize the environment by recycling, reducing litter, and lowing their carbon footprint. It’s a movement that everyone should take part in order to keep the planet we live on. It is heart breaking to see coral reefs diminish, species of wildlife disappearing; It seems as though the human race will be next on the chopping block once our environment is no longer to suitable to grow food. If the developing countries that are responsible for creating emissions don’t make a change, no matter the cost, we will lose our home.