Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

In the given statement, it is stated that some people often believe that it is necessary and even desirable for the political leader to withhold information from the public while others believe that it is the right of the people to know everything. Political leaders may have a very sensitive information related to the country which can not be made public because it can create concern at country level or at a international level. These type of information need to be keep covert as it may pose threat to the national security. So, one should always agree with the former belief which supports the withhold of information.

Firstly, there are many reason support the former belief in the point like national security, sensitivity of the information, information that lead to the law and order situation or information that may create panic among public. Also the decision taken by the leaders may be a part of the strategy towards the hegemony of the nation or a strategy towards some country or related to increase the economical condition which if made public may fail the steps taken by the government. So, it is necessary for the people leading the country to keep the information furitive.

Secondly, some information may be of the step taken by government to reduce some problem of the country which can take a long time to give result. But if such information is made public the culprit will get a chance to find a flaw and the plan or purpose for which that task is applied will fail. For example lets take a problem of corruption, if government had decided to take some step regarding the curbing of corruption and if such information is made public by the political leaders then the people involve in corruption will have a chance to find a flaw to get safe and can take some step so that no harm is done to the culprit.

Moreover, some information are of the national benefit and strategy which needs to be kept as a profound secret. Lets take a example of the assaination of terrorist Osama-bin-Laden, if American government had kept this plan open for public then would it have been successful. It may had given terrorist to hide at some other place.

However, there are some information which has high need to be told to public that should not be hide away. These information are those which does not have anything related to national security of the country and also serve as a development characteristic of the country to the people and also as report card of the political people.

In conclusion, it should be considered that there are some information which should be made public but there are some information which should not be made public until desired result is obtained.