Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Political leaders are an important people for a country. They have a power to make decision for country’s benefits. They set an example for their nation. They have all the sensitive information about their nation. They work for people so people should know all the information. However, leader should withhold information from public or people have right to know all the information is complicated issue.

People have right to be informed about their own nations. Most of the world has democratic countries where people elect their leaders. If leaders withhold information from people then it is harmful for leader. They lose trust from people. Also revealing information brings transparency. People believe in their leaders and work for their leaders which are beneficial for government. And transparency brings corruption less government. For example, if government provides details of their funds, where they used and how much they used, then people will satisfy that there money used for betterment of nation. So, Leader should informed people to bring transparency.

In contrast, there are some details which are very important and crucial for government to reveal. They may raise threat to nation and it cannot share with people like information about security, defense, internal government documents and details about potential threat to country’s integrity. These details should withhold from people for their safety. For example, if details about boarder security somehow reach to other country, then there will be big problems at border and lives of soldiers are in danger. Thus, political leader should not reveal sensitive details about nation to people.

However, people have right to informed and also understand which details they should know. Details about security of country or defense are very sensitive and therefore people should understand that these details are dangerous if revealed publicly. And it is duty of leader what to reveal to people and what not to. So, some details are necessary to withhold from people but there are other details that people should be rightfully informed.

In conclusion, political leader is a very important person and they should know what details should reveal to people and what not to. Letting the information known to the public will create mutual understanding between the leaders and the people and it will give great success.