Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

In the society, there always be 4 groups of people. First will be strong supporters of general doctrine. Second will be strong opponents of that doctrine. Third will be oportunists, they will tend to follow either of the group which will beneficial for them. Lastly, the fourth one, which cannot be named, as they no longer get affected by any doctrine, they are in their own world. Ideally, a political leader must always please these all 4 groups in order to be effective. But, practically, it is impossible, eventhough how much ever good is any course of action it is always going to be opposed by atleast one group unless they experience its benefits.Unlikely, if a political leader remains committed to particular principles and objectives, it becomes more convenient for him/her to influence the opponents i.e. that group(s) of people as he/she stands firm on certain principles.

The Netflix series,'House of Cards'; depicts the US political affairs which Ms. Hilary Clinton quotes is most closest and honest imitation of US politics. The main character Mr. Francis Underwood thrives to be a President of USA by trickery and diplomacy. Though, he always follows his own path paved on moral pricipals and aims. His presidential term has one aim to enforce 'America Works'- a job spree to americans , in his 1st term. He had ultimate aim, to mitigate the poverty by providing ample job opportunities to Americans. In spite of this, he was opposed by many within the senate as well as oustside commoners. But still he kept on enforcing unless natives applauded him once 'America Works' came into action. Which in turn, guarenteed his win for the 2nd term of presidency and victory in comming elections.

On the other hand, his running opponent for presidential election was laid mostly by publicity wave. He tends to mend his ways according to public opinion in order to whip votes. His advisery team was forced to come up with the solutions and plan of actions which depends mostly on public interests. For the same, he relied on digital statistics yielded from people's internet interests which was a shady grey work. This course of action made him fall prey to the trap set by his Mr. francis Underwood and had to withdraw his application from the Election.

From above example, one can infer that, if one remains committed to his aims and objectives one is most likely to be a effective leader. Though, the path is hard and enduring people applaudes you when the result is beneficial for them. No matter how much you try to derive a perfect solution for people's issues, there always will be a group of natives which will oppose your point of view. Hence it is better to follow own principles and morals , atleast one can defend his own stand effectively. As the arbirtary definition of 'effective leader' states, effective leader is one who persuades his citizens and leads them on the path to development . Hence rather by mending ways according to public opinion it is viable to proceed on the path supported by moral pillars.