Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The author contends that there are two different perspectives toward the formal education system. While there are some people who believe that this system free the thought and feeling of students; others have the opposite view. This group feels this type of education hinder and restrain the mind and soul. In what follows, I will list the possible reasons which these two groups shape their opinion finally, I will delineate my outlook.

First of all, the group which agrees on the liberty of mind and sprite by the formal education may believe that the aim of this educational system is providing the free, fair, and proliferate platform where the different types of the people from various casts of society can coalesce until getting the rearing for enhancing their comprehension and understanding from world. Indeed, the education and learning the new things add the novel understating and attitude toward the universe; consequently, by these well-educated individuals the plausibility of the solo-directional and narrow thought about the ongoing events on circumstances will be decreased, and everyone can go the beyond the boundaries for exploring the new things which help to liberty of mind and soul.

As mentioned, on the other hand, the group which does not concur that the public education will lead to freedom of thought and feeling may shape this view according to the structure of this system. In fact, the structure of public education is an intentional and pre-planned structure. It is intentional, since there is the obligatory of its syllabus and contends and all people should take these courses. In addition, all the program and schedule of the system are defined before the semester is getting started. In this case, this system does not have any flexibility toward the students’ desires or intellectual abilities. These two parameters and their definition do not fit in the realm of freedom. However, it is a strict program in which the student goes through a process to achieve a predefined stand in the educational system.

I should say that it is it the second perspective with which I largely agree. First of all, from my point of view, the reasons for which the second group relies on adhere to their opinion are sensible and plausible. Furthermore, I have one more reason to support my outlook. From my perspective, this educational system is scored center. Actually, during the whole education period, the student is subjected to examination either his or her understating from the finished level or his or her qualification for starting the new level in the system. For instance, each student at least takes one of exams such as SAT, GRE, or other types of qualification exams to illustrate his or her capability. In this stressful situation, which the examination and rating of satisfaction and unsatisfaction are persisted, the chance of the learning and seeking a knowledgeable subject freely seem impossible.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned arguments depict that the public education while providing the free and accessible system for whole students possesses a wrong system which gets the freedom of students to flourishing their minds and sprites.