Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientist. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is , in fact, the general welfare of all its people.

Some people argue that the greatness of the nation can be decided by the achievements of its leaders,artists and scientists. However, this is is an overly simplistic view. . The statement also talk about achievements of rulers or leaders of the country and what is the achievements of its rulers? A achievements of its leaders can be determined by the general welfare of all its people. scientists' and artists' achievements and welfare of people is also related. Thus, according to me, achievements of rulers, artists or scientists and general welfare of public cannot be separated. Thus, according to me, to determine a nation is great or not one should consider the general welfare of all its people because scientists and artists are also a part of general public.

Lets first consider the rulers of the nation. Whether a nation is democratic or not, the rulers or leaders of the nations are responsible for general welfare of its public. It is their duty to fulfill the demands of its people and provide basic facilities such as shelter, food, clothes and education. Thus, a leader is said to be accomplished only if he/she is succeed to cater the demands of its people. Thus, the welfare of general public and achievements of leaders cannot be segregated. How a leader can be considered successful even its majority people has to sleep hungry?

Now, if you consider the achievements of scientists and artists. Though, many scientists and artists are self motivated, they cannot contribute to a great extends to its country if they have not sufficient financial help. For example, scientists can make progress in various scientific theories but they cannot contribute in field of space technology because lack of financial help. Another point which is worth consider is that if its general public cannot afford higher education then country cannot produce a great number of scientists.

There are various for of art such as music, dance, painting, and many more. The artists need to be financially sound if they want to achieve great success in addition to their skills. For example, a music composer can create musical masterpiece only through inner inspiration,but for commercial success he must need a financial help. And anther thing to consider is, if the large portion of people cannot satisfy their basic need then they cannot have enough money to praise artistic masterpiece. Thus, achievements of scientists and artists should not consider separate from welfare of general public.

In conclusion, it is not prudent to segregate the accomplishments of its rulers, artists or scientists from the general welfare of all its people. They both are interrelated. Thus, the greatness of a nation can be determined by looking at the achievements of its leaders, scientists and artists as well as by considering the general welfare of its people.