Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Today, education is one of the most controversial subjects. The past few decades have been characterized by exponential change and disruption in many industries, but education has remained largely untouched. Now, analysts and media companies alike are questioning the system. One particular solution that has gained significant attention is the potential to base teachers' salaries on academic performance. Initially it seems intuitive, but unfortunately, it encourages unethical business practices and is not a viable solution to fixing our education institutions.

To begin with, tying teachers' salaries to performance is not uniform in measurement. Undoubtedly, it would be nearly impossible to compare the performance between a physical education teacher in an elementary school to that of a biology teacher in high school. Both jobs require the same level of education for getting the job but one is more technical than the other. Payroll discrepancies will appear as a result; as a result, teachers may shift towards particular subjects, leaving other needed areas in low supply. A compensation system tied to student performance would not be plausible, and without a clear payment structure, performance based salaries will not work.

Furthermore, compensation that correlates with academic performance may have an adverse effect on teachers and their incentive to teach. One might think that they would be encouraged to become better teachers. Rather, the effect may turn formerly talented teachers into instructors interested in molding their students to perform well on standardized tests. To illustrate, a viral video of UConn's valedictorian speaker, Abu Dhaji, highlighted this issue. He exclaimed in front of his graduating class that college had taught him to be a valiant test taker but had left him ill-equipped for the real world. Education is in dire need for change, but compensation packages based on academic performance is not the solution.

In contrast, this is not to say that academic performance related compensation will not work for all institutions. For instance, many small technical colleges have highly esteemed professors who are more concerned with their research and funding. As a result, they become lackadaisical in their student facing roles. In this case, compensation based on student performance may give those teachers an invested interest in focusing on their classes. Nonetheless, education has a much broader problem, and performance commissions are too parochial in viable applications.

Education is widely known to be antiquated; reform is on the horizon, but salaries that are based on the academic performances of students is simply not it. We need teachers who are focused on shaping students into true intellects, not into developed test takers.