Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The feedback of the consumers is an important factor in determining the worth of the product. But in case of an education system where the consumers and the products are same, the evaluation gets a little tricky.

Most students around the world prefer independency in their studies and try to isolate themseleves with right guidance. This is one of the main factors why the attendance policy is very lax in many prestigiuos universities. Since every student has their own style of studying and understanding it is quite understandable why they strive so hard to be independent from the teachers. So determing the worth of the results this phenomenon results solely based on the teaching skills is foolish. Teachers have their own individuality of taking classes and most often follow a base (like a website, book or old lectures) as a reference for their style of teaching. This particular style can be the chosen because of their comfortability with it or because of their believe that it could reach more students. Either way a student can find it difficult to adjust to this numerous teaching styles cowed on them by different subjects. It might take some time exceptionally skilled students to adjust to this rigorous pattern of different styles while others cant find this balance at all. This leads to accomodation of self study in most students. Contrasting to the popular belief students who are solely standing on self study need more attention and guidance than those who are good tuning themselves to the students. When a student is in the path of self study they do not the know-how to lead the path safely and in the direction of accomplishment. A teacher should act as a proper mentor in guiding these moths to the light. Unfortunately, most teachers ignore this requirement of concentrating evenly in their classrooms and just pour their attention towards the exceptional few who happens to be inured to their teaching. Students are often too shy or prideful to approach the lecturers for help when they are free falling, with their heads filled with angst and rebelliousness that comes with their age and with the teachers choosing to ignore their existence for most part or trying to imbibe their teaching forcefully is brutal. This could be one of the major reasons why students find it hard to manuver high schools and universities.

Another important factor that determines the fate of the out come of a students academic performance is the amount of resources available to them. Many schools offer unlimited information and resources, recognizing the need to awknowledge students who are better off on their own methods of education. Though this effort of accomodation is not wide it is now spreading everywhere. Most of the assignments and homeworks that are required to be completed by the students need the access of external sources. Times like these libraries and other open sources like wikipedia come in handy. Even with the teachers spoon feeding the functionality of the projects or assignments, it is not weird to assume the drastic need of outsode sources for impartial markings. Many schools are not equiped enough to provide this unsurmountable resources or information which could be the cause of drawbacks found in students from these schools.

Situations like mental health, family problems and considering the recent circumstances, a global pandemic can effect the students academic performance substancially. Without the proper motivation to move forward there is only so much a teacher can do. These external factors can impact individually or as a group, like we are seeing in the present. Students can find it hard to come out of their shells and most cant find the courage to speak of their troubles or work towards betterment. Teachers worried of the state of students then their performance try to appease them while those who value the performance push them deeper into the spiral.

Even after considering the sides of both bad and good, one who pays the attention and one who doesn't, one who values mental health over performance and one who values performance over mental health, it is safe to say that the academic life of student is not dependent on the workings and presence of a teacher alone. Though they have a part to play, it is not fair on both sides to inculpate the teachers alone for the debacle of a school or class. There are some teachers who have had a positive impact by priortising the general well being of the students and helping them with their crisis. These teachers might not have a class with a great academic performance but it does have a better resonance in the future well being of the students. Proportionaing his salary based on the performance of the students can be cruel and extremely unfair.