Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Life was meant to become simpler with the advent of modern day technology. But not all things go as planned. Often times, due to irresponsible use, the same technology complicates our lives in more ways than it was intended to simplify.

People who are used to technology on a daily basis, as it is quite evident around us, refrain from socializing in general. They in themselves feel satisfied and independent as if all their needs are being fulfilled solely by technology. This leads to social isolation as a consequence, a problem quite common among the modern households where children and parents no longer spend time together in doing chores, instead spend more individualistic lives. Take for example the life a mid aged working woman, she unlike her mother or the previous generations will prefer ordering groceries online instead of actually visiting a store or go out and meet some neighbors. She will have less time for her own children, who are left to be raised by housemaids and nannies.

Technology was meant to help us in solving complex things but with the passage of time we started using technology for even the simplest of things. For instance the mathematical as well as analytical abilities in general have declined since the invention of modern calculators and computers. People became overly dependent on technological advances, and did not want to put efforts or use their own brains. As a consequence, human brain is becoming weaker. We do not have the same mental skills needed for survival in case of an adversity as our ancestors, simply because we do not engage our brain to such extremities.

However, on the brighter side, we do observe some uses of technology that have helped mankind in general. Take, for example, the case of a physically impaired person who cannot move around on its own, in his case using electric wheel chair or even prosthetic limbs everyday helps him. Technology made his life a little simpler if not great. Similarly, climatic predictions can be made more accurately, hence preventing damage from a cyclone or a tsunami in time.

Conclusively it can be stated that though technological advances have helped humans in different aspects of life, however over dependence on technology on individual levels has complicated the things for us.