Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Railways perform a pivoting role in driving the economy of a country. Therefore some people may argue that the governments should be spending on developing railways rather than roads. However, despite the usefulness of the rail links, I strongly disagree with the above argument and this essay shall try to explain why is it so.

The foremost factor affecting the transportation layout in and around a region is its topology. It is already a very difficult, costly and time consuming task to build roads, let alone laying tracks over high mountain ranges and inclement weather conditions, elevation of the mountain etc only add up to the problems faced by workers there. In such conditions it makes far more sense to spend money on constructing good roads for smoother transportation, since they can be constructed in a relatively shorter time frame and less effort.

Furthermore, the inherit problem with the railways is that they can only move between set stations and therefore cannot reach every place within a city. This means that besides having a well laid out railway line structure, we will still need to spend huge amounts on constructing roads to connect the inner city. Hence relying on railways instead of roads is not going to prove very useful especially in small towns where there are not enough convenient spots to build a railway station.

Conclusively, even though the usability of the rail road links is inarguable especially when it comes to carrying heavy loads over very long distances, yet we cannot ignore the fact that roads are still required to carry out any major or minor transportation operation.