To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I fundamentally agree with the claim that meaningful features of the nation are observed in its big cities. By the innate feature of capitals aggregating to a specific center, the mainstream trend of people and technical developments are lucidly observed in major cities. However, an investigation about whether society is centralized or not is indispensable before starting the main evaluation.

The primary reason why I agree with the given statement is that most citizens, who consist the society actually, live in major cities. The lifestyle of citizens is one of the indispensable checkpoints when we investigate a nation. As the city grows larger and larger, its influence on other small cities increases very rapidly. The significant portion of people who have their jobs in metropolitan city does not live in the city. In the weekend, so many people clouded in front of the department store would be residents in the next city of the metropolitan city. Because the capitals and industries are becoming extremely centralized, the actual number of people who have their basis on the metropolitan city easily surpasses the number of people that is written on a residents report. thus to investigate the dominant lifestyle in the nation, the investigator should examine the metropolitan city.

In the context of centralization, we can also seek the political and technical advances that are achieved in society. The newly developed technic and technical infrastructures are often provided in the capital city first. The first subway system of the nation has been installed in its capital city with no exception in any country worldwide. it is common in a small town there’s no subway system installed, and the society only composed by small cities would have no subway system in the nation, like swiss or Luxembourg in real. Then, is it justifiable to insist that the metro infrastructure of swiss and England is comparable after looking for the small town in two countries? one similar example in political executions also substantiates the reasoning of this paragraph. In South Korea, the capital city, Seoul, has executed the emergency prohibition inhibiting the drive of old cars for reducing the dust level in the city. A few months later, other cities nationwide copied the instruction after evaluating the efficiency of it. In a centralized society, the advances in major cities aptly illustrate the overall technical and social development of the society, and even investigating small cities only can lead to an erroneous conclusion.

Nevertheless, I note that these principles are justified in special situations solely. In the cases of decentralized society, accepting the strong recommendation that assures to study the major cities is somewhat bothersome. The previous example considering swiss or Luxembourg depicts that it is unnecessary to study the major cities in a decentralized society. There can be a society consisted of small towns, thus the difference between the largest city and others is trivial. In conclusion, the maintenance is regarded as premature if the evaluation of the society considering its centralization is yet invalid.

In sum, caused by an extreme centralization of modern industries and capitalism, the investigation of major cities has become more crucial to understand the whole nation.