People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Does general social trends acts predominantly in one's decision making, rather than one's intrinsic effects? Albeit it has some merits, I find this contention assumes some unascertained hypothesis and fails to account for a possible caveat of adults with mature experiences. Thus I acknowledge the merit of the contention insofar as it is applied to premature students though, I fundamentally disagree to the contention.

Admittedly, we can anticipate that children and adolescences would greatly influenced by extrinsic social press and therefore behave as the dominating trends of the social group one is contained. Consider how elementary, middle, and high school students try to behave similar to their friends. Aristoteles said 'human is a social animal'. premature students tend to be easily affected by circumstances and their friends, and the reason why is because they feel comfortable by pertaining to certain groups, which is the very inherent need of human being. Thus I agree that the recommendation has a partial merit.

However, the above scenario is true only under a particular condition: is still people behave regarding to social atmosphere only if they are not adolescences but adults with mature ego? My answer is 'No', seeing the contrary example which aptly illustrates why rather their own ego strongly affect to adults' behavior rather than social atmosphere. University students are encouraged to read many books and experience diverse activities, to make their own perspective and decision standard of their future. In near future, when they get their jobs and formulate own disposition, they will be hugely influenced by what they read and saw, which originated from their own decision. Notwithstanding the previous consideration, some might argue that this can be an exemplary case depicting the importance of social atmosphere, arguing that even such apparently intrinsic activities are actually determined by their social backgrounds. Yet, one's own decision and ego is likely to determine one's behavior still, even admitting the counter argument. The social backgrounds' effect to one's decision is limited-this affects one's decision only superficially and in broad degree-while in diminutive degree, one's own experience and ego act without any disturbance from social background. That is, the counter argument is irrelevant to my intention to suggesting the example and never does it weaken the justness of the example. Still there's no problem for the case of decision making of adults to substantiate my view.

In sum, the speaker oversimplified the matter by being lured to the limited merit of human's intrinsic tendency to become a 'social animal'. As a result, I feel onerous in agreeing the contention unless the speaker obviates the possible caveat of understating one's ego.