Educational Institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

I fundamentally disagree that the currently evaluated talent of a student should be an indicator in determining the future study and career. Needless to say, talent is vital to get success in one’s career. Yet, I emphasize the significance of effort compared to talent, and additionally, will show the statement unwarranted by indicating the hidden assumption that it is making.

At first glance, the given statement looks attractive. The inherent ability of a student plays a crucial role in studying and his future career. Numerous examples approve this point. especially in music and arts, many ingenious composers like Beethoven, Mozart, or Brahms showed their gifts very early in life. On the contrary case, an Overwhelming number of contemporary musicians in the 18th century might live in difficulties and are forgotten now in 21st century. Athletes aren’t exceptions as well. Turning to view a more general case, studying mathematics and science (especially physics) requires learners’ talent significantly: a lot of students who choose their major in engineer or science are suffered from the burdensome study and finally change their majors. Truly, talent does lots in study and success of a career.

Nevertheless, we can’t ignore the importance of effort. there’s a famous phrase that Sir Edison left: A genius consists of 1% inspiration and 99% effort. Admittedly, 1% inspiration is needed to complete the genius, but what consisting genius in major is the effort. The career of Chinese pianist yundi lee aptly illustrates the essentiality of effort. yundi lee, the champion of chopin International competition in 2000, was famous for his artful technics on piano. but in 2015, at the concert in South Korea, he forgot the portion of the piece and skipped the passage! Surprisingly, the piece was what he performed in the final stage in the chopin competition that he won. In fact, he was lazy in keeping his ability still keenly after the competition. this example conveys us the importance of effort by introducing the dramatic declination in the field where talent is considered extremely necessary.

Moreover, some critical caveats might be hidden in the educational institutions’ judgment, by prematurely trusting that the talent of students will remain the same in the future as now. Plenty number of scholars had prospered their gifts in the middle of their career. Einstein had worked in the patents office of Swiss before he announced the very article explaining relativity theory, though he had graduated a great college (ETH Zurich). Although we despite Einstein’s case, there is an equivalent number of scientists who discovered their talent after graduation compared to who flourished their talent in the early stage. some can insist that this is the result of effort, but the insistence would not be able to validate the next example. In elementary school, children usually prefer playing with friends than studying in front of a desk. In this step, a calm student with moderate talent would be considered as gifted than a restive child. but by growing up, the restive child would start studying and his hidden talent can be denuded. Thus it is dangerous to define students’ ability in the early age of life.

In sum, though I admit the importance of talents as the speaker asserts, I can’t hide my anxiety for the danger that a hasty examination of students’ talent would make. Furthermore, there is another risk of misjudging the actually required ability in a specific field when institutions dissuade tutees. Definitively, the noble value of effort can’t be lighted compared to talent.