To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It isn’t quite uncommon for us to associate entire cultures or societies with one particular thing. Hailing from a country like India, rich in diversity and having no dearth of cultural variety, it is quite an experience trying to understand and learn about the various societies spread throughout this country. If I am asked to list out my understandings of for example, say the Bengalis, images of tasty fish, the Howrah bridge and the city of Kolkata comes to mind. Given that Kolkata is indeed the capital city of West Bengal, one might say it is safe to assume that studying the major cities would in fact help us understand the society as a whole. Yet, if asked to talk about Kannadigas from the Karnataka, one might think of the Mangalore fish curry, the Mysore Palace and the pristine beaches along the coasts of Gokharna and Udupi. Why doesn’t Bangalore, the capital city of Karnataka not to mention the IT capital of the country, come to one’s mind in this instance?

The major cities of a society are the ones where the clock is ticking fast, everyone is in a hurry to get somewhere and the city never sleeps. It is the hub of all business, technological advancements and cultural diversities. The boundlessness of a major city is attractive to several communities and there is usually multiple cultures thriving within a major city. The cosmopolitan nature of a major city thus masks the intricate qualities that may truly define a society as a whole.

In contrast to the given statement, societies are nurtured by the families and communities thriving within the smaller regions. If one wants to study the Arabian culture, simply discerning the cultural richness and lifestyle of a city like Dubai will not do any good for the real stories about the emergence and life of the Arabians are rooted deep within the smaller towns like that of Mecca and Madinah in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Although, majority of the working class from a society tend to pool into the major cities, it doesn’t give us the complete picture. Thus, it is necessary to dive deep into the minor parts of a society to better understand its functioning.